Skip to main content

Does Allagash cider contain gluten?

While ciders and fruit wines are produced using naturally gluten free ingredients, we do produce our cider using some of the same equipment used to make highly glutinous beers. Additionally, the initial yeast propagation process begins with trace concentrations of malt extract (3 g/L), which is not gluten free.  As such, we cannot claim that our ciders and fruit wines do not contain trace amounts of gluten. However, we are confident that these beverages contain <20 ppm gluten in the final product. In order to be fully transparent, please find a brief overview of our production methods below.


  1. Our ciders and wines start with naturally gluten-free apples and fruits, which are pressed into juice and fermented with yeast we’ve propagated using an extract containing trace levels of gluten.
  2. Before fermenting and packaging our cider, we clean all equipment (vessels, hoses/lines, kegs, etc) to reduce the chances of cross contact.
  3. We pour our cider on a dedicated, cider-only draft line. 


If you have any further questions, please consult your health professional to ensure you’re making a choice that’s right for you.